Nationwide dog insurance: what it covers
Thinking about Nationwide dog insurance? Here’s what Nationwide’s policy really covers, explained in plain English and taken straight from Nationwide’s own documents. We’ve focused on the parts that decide whether a claim gets paid, such as waiting periods, pre-existing conditions and how much you pay yourself. Nothing here is a recommendation.
Nationwide at a glance
- Deductible you pay first
- Annual
- Share of each vet bill it pays back
- Percentage of eligible costs on some plans, pre-set benefit allowances on others; the worked example uses 80%
- Wait before illness is covered
- 'Most plans start 1–14 days after your application is approved and payment has been processed' (no split by illness/injury stated)
- Vet exam fees
- Not found yet
Common questions about Nationwide dog insurance
How long is the Nationwide waiting period?
'Most plans start 1–14 days after your application is approved and payment has been processed' (no split by illness/injury stated)
Does Nationwide cover pre-existing conditions?
Not covered, but you can ask Nationwide to review a condition that has been cured, and it may add an exception so it's covered.
Does Nationwide cover behavioural training or a behaviourist?
An optional coverage on the Modular Plan. Obedience training, and training that isn't medically necessary, isn't covered.
Does Nationwide pet insurance cover dental?
Covered unless signs such as tartar or gum disease were there before the policy or in the waiting period.
Does Nationwide cover cruciate ligament surgery?
Excluded if signs appear in your first policy year; cruciate cover is an optional add-on.
Is there an age limit to join Nationwide?
No maximum stated for dogs on the FAQ; older dogs may have more pre-existing exclusions
How old does my puppy need to be for Nationwide?
8 weeks
Does Nationwide offer a multi-pet discount?
5% per pet for two to three pets, and 10% per pet for more than four. A pet already insured gets the discount from its next renewal.
Does Nationwide cover hip dysplasia?
Congenital and hereditary conditions are an optional add-on to the Modular Plan.
Working on reactivity or another behaviour problem? Read how to choose a reactive dog trainer, or find a trainer near you.
How does Nationwide compare with other US insurers?
The same five points for every US insurer we compare, so you can see how Nationwide stacks up. Click any insurer to read its full page.
| Insurer | Deductible you pay first | Share of each bill paid back | Wait before illness is covered | Vet exam fees | Behavioural treatment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trupanion | Per condition: once paid for an illness or injury, that condition is covered with no further deductible | Coinsurance shown on the declarations page; the website says up to 90% | 30 days (illnesses in the first 30 days are treated as pre-existing) | Not covered, at any time | Only with the optional Recovery and Complementary Care rider (which also covers rehab, acupuncture, hydrotherapy, chiropractic) |
| Nationwide | Annual | Percentage of eligible costs on some plans, pre-set benefit allowances on others; the worked example uses 80% | 'Most plans start 1–14 days after your application is approved and payment has been processed' (no split by illness/injury stated) | Not found yet | Modular Plan lists Behavioral coverage among its coverages; it excludes behavioural training not medically necessary for a diagnosed condition, and obedience training |
| Lemonade | Annual deductible (the FAQ's examples and wording) | 70%, 80% or 90% co-insurance | 14 days | Not covered by the base policy; covered with the vet visit fee add-on | Not found yet |
| Healthy Paws | Annual: applies once per 12-month coverage term | Coinsurance shown on the declarations page | 15 days | Not covered | Not covered (training, therapy, medication or other behaviour modification) |
| Embrace | Annual, per pet | Reimbursement percentage shown on the Schedule of Insurance | 14 days | Covered only if shown on the Schedule (optional) | Covered: vet diagnosis, tests, medication and training sessions as Behavioral Therapy |
| Pets Best | Annual: $50 to $2,000 in $50 steps | 50%, 60%, 70%, 80% or 90% | 14 days | Only with the optional office visits/exam fees benefit, chosen at enrolment | Training and treatment not covered, except consultations and prescription medication if the supplemental benefits are bought |
| Pumpkin | Annual, applies each policy period | Percentage shown on the declarations page | 14 days | Covered as part of eligible treatment ("examinations, consultations") | Covered if treated by a vet or, on a vet's referral, by a certified animal behaviourist (CAAB, ACAAB) or veterinary behaviourist (Dip ACVB) |
| Figo | Annual deductible, plus an optional per-incident copay | Coinsurance shown on the declarations page | 14 days | Not covered unless the optional Office Visit and Exam Fees cover is bought | Not covered unless the optional Holistic and Alternative & Behavioral Problems cover is bought |
| Spot | Annual, applies each policy period | Percentage shown on the declarations page | 14 days | Covered as part of eligible treatment ("examinations, consultations") | Covered if treated by a vet or, on a vet's referral, by a certified animal behaviourist (CAAB, ACAAB) or veterinary behaviourist (Dip ACVB) |
Everything we checked in Nationwide’s policy
Each point shows where we found it in Nationwide’s own document, so you can check it yourself. Where an insurance term needs explaining, we’ve added a short note.
- Type of policy
- Modular Plan: Accident and Illness cover, with optional Congenital & Hereditary, Cruciate, Behavioral, prescription food and Wellness coverages. Annual limit per category (the site's worked example uses $5,000 per category)Where: whats-covered page disclosure; plan restrictions page
- Deductible you pay firstThe amount you pay towards vet bills before your insurer starts paying.
- Annual. Options from $100 on some plans; the FAQ says most owners choose $250Where: FAQ 'What is the annual deductible…'
- Share of each vet bill it pays backAfter your deductible, the percentage of each vet bill your insurer pays back.
- Percentage of eligible costs on some plans, pre-set benefit allowances on others; the worked example uses 80%Where: FAQ 'How do reimbursements work?'; whats-covered disclosure
- Most it will pay out
- Annual maximum depending on the plan; category maximums on the Modular Plan; maximums reset at renewalWhere: FAQ 'Is there a payout limit?' and 'How do reimbursements work?'
- Wait before illness is coveredThe time after you buy a policy before you can claim for an illness.
- 'Most plans start 1–14 days after your application is approved and payment has been processed' (no split by illness/injury stated)Where: FAQ 'When does my coverage begin?'
- Wait before injuries are covered
- As aboveWhere: FAQ 'When does my coverage begin?'
- Wait before knee problems are coveredSome insurers make you wait longer before knee problems, like a torn cruciate ligament, are covered.
- Modular Plan: cruciate ligament or meniscus damage is excluded if signs occur in the first policy term. Cruciate coverage is an optional add-on (per the plan restrictions page wording, a separate coverage)Where: Plan restrictions, Modular Plan exclusions
- Problems on both sides of the body, like both kneesIf your dog has problems on both sides (both knees, both hips), many policies treat them as one condition.
- Not in the documents we read.Where: Not stated on the pages read
- Cover for pre-existing conditionsAnything your dog had, or showed signs of, before the policy started.
- Not covered: anything a vet advised on or treated, or that showed signs, before the policy started or in the waiting period. Members can ask for a review of a cured pre-existing condition, and an exception may be addedWhere: FAQ 'Are pre-existing conditions covered?' and 'What are pre-existing conditions?'
- Vet exam fees
- Not in the documents we read.Where: Not stated on the pages read
- Cover for behavioural treatment
- Modular Plan lists Behavioral coverage among its coverages; it excludes behavioural training not medically necessary for a diagnosed condition, and obedience training. (The older Major Medical plans exclude behavioural treatment entirely.)Where: Plan restrictions page
- Dental cover
- Oral health treatment excluded where signs (tartar, gingivitis, periodontal disease…) were present before the policy or in the waiting periodWhere: Plan restrictions, Modular Plan exclusions
- Routine care, like vaccinations
- Optional Wellness coverage; otherwise not coveredWhere: Plan restrictions; FAQ 'What do the plans cover?'
- Hereditary conditions
- Optional Congenital & Hereditary coverage; cats 8 and over can't enrol in itWhere: whats-covered disclosure; FAQ 'Are hereditary conditions covered?'
- Oldest age your dog can join
- No maximum stated for dogs on the FAQ; older dogs may have more pre-existing exclusionsWhere: FAQ 'Can a senior dog still get coverage?'
- Youngest age your dog can join
- 8 weeksWhere: All products page: 'Pets must be a minimum of 8 weeks of age at time of application' (Nationwide’s website, read 5 October 2026)
- Discount for insuring more than one pet
- 5% per pet for two to three pets; 10% per pet for more than four. A pet already enrolled gets the discount from its next renewalWhere: Multiple pets page (Nationwide’s website, read 5 October 2026)
- Hip dysplasia
- Congenital and hereditary conditions are an optional add-on to the Modular PlanWhere: Plan restrictions page (Nationwide’s website, read 5 October 2026)
Source: Plan restrictions (Modular Pet Insurance Plan) and FAQ pages. Read on 3 October 2026. Terms vary by state; these are for Texas. Policies change, so always read the current policy wording before you buy or claim. Spotted a mistake? Tell us.