Dog trainers in Oklahoma

Force-free is the most common label among Oklahoma's 67 listed dog trainers: 32 carry it, with 4 Balanced, 1 E-collar-centric and 30 not stating their methods. Tulsa has 14 trainers, Edmond 12 and Oklahoma City 7, out of 29 cities. 57 have a Bark Score. Group classes are the most common format, run by 41 trainers, ahead of private 1:1 sessions at 39.

Find the right trainer in Oklahoma

Ranked by member recommendations, then Bark Score. Narrow the list down to what your dog needs.

Filter the list
How do you want to train?
Training method

Showing the top 30 of 67 trainers

K9 Manners & More

Broken ArrowForce-free

4.8Bark Score

How you can train
Online, Private lessons, Group classes, Day training
Helps with
Puppy training, Aggression, Recall, Leash pulling, Fear and 5 more
Credentials
CPDT-KA

See profile Website Call

The Doggie Spot

ShawneeForce-free

4.8Bark Score

How you can train
Day training, Private lessons, Online, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Scent work and 1 more
Credentials
CPDT-KSA

See profile Website Call

ROC Animal Training and Behavior

Oklahoma CityForce-free

4.7Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, Board and train
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Agility, Recall, Leash pulling
Credentials
KPA-CTP
In business since
2015

See profile Website

Kinetic K9s LLC

StillwaterForce-free

4.5Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, Day training, Board and train
Helps with
Basic obedience, Agility, Puppy training, Aggression
Credentials
CBCC-KA

See profile Website Call

Buckaroos 360 Dog Care

Pauls ValleyForce-free

4.3Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, Online
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash pulling, Recall, Therapy dog work and 2 more

See profile Website Call

4.3Bark Score

How you can train
In your home, Private lessons, Group classes, Board and train
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, AKC Canine Good Citizen and 7 more

See profile Website Call

PetSuites Tulsa

TulsaForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, Board and train
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling

See profile Website Call

Really Good Pets LLC

NormanForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, In your home
Helps with
Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, AKC Canine Good Citizen, Reactivity and 2 more

See profile Website Call

Azani Pro Dog Training

EdmondForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Aggression, Fear, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling and 4 more

See profile Website Call

Azani Pro Dog Training

EdmondForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Aggression, Fear, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling and 4 more

See profile Website Call

Make Your Dog Epic

EdmondForce-free

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash pulling, Recall, Fear and 1 more

See profile Website Call

Make Your Dog Epic

EdmondForce-free

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash pulling, Recall, Fear and 1 more

See profile Website Call

By specialism

At a glance

Dog training in Oklahoma, by the numbers

  • 67dog trainers listed in Oklahoma
  • 29towns and cities with a trainer
  • 48%say they train force-free
  • 4name a recognised credential

How they train

Force-free
48%
Balanced
6%
E-collar-centric
1%
Not stated
45%

How you can train with them

Group classes
61%
Private lessons
58%
Board and train
45%
Online
16%
In your home
13%
Day training
12%

What they help with

Basic obedience
81%
Recall
69%
Leash pulling
69%
Puppy training
57%
Aggression
31%
Fear
22%

Counted from all 67 trainers listed in Oklahoma, from what their listings say.

Tulsa 14

Of the 14 trainers in Tulsa, 4 say they train force-free, 1 balanced and 9 don’t say how they train. 8 offer private lessons, 7 group classes and 7 board and train.

Highest Bark Score in Tulsa: Spirit Ranch Dog Training, Inc, 4.3.

Edmond 12

Of the 12 trainers in Edmond, 9 say they train force-free, 1 balanced, 1 e-collar-centric and 1 doesn’t say how they train. 11 offer group classes, 7 board and train and 7 private lessons.

Highest Bark Score in Edmond: Pleasant Pooch Daycare, Training and Dock Diving, 4.1.

Oklahoma City 7

Of the 7 trainers in Oklahoma City, 5 say they train force-free and 2 don’t say how they train. 6 offer private lessons, 6 group classes and 4 online. 1 names a credential such as KPA-CTP.

Highest Bark Score in Oklahoma City: ROC Animal Training and Behavior, 4.7.

Broken Arrow 3

Of the 3 trainers in Broken Arrow, 3 say they train force-free. 3 offer private lessons, 3 group classes and 2 day training. 1 names a credential such as CPDT-KA.

Highest Bark Score in Broken Arrow: K9 Manners & More, 4.8.

Norman 3

Of the 3 trainers in Norman, 1 says it trains force-free and 2 don’t say how they train. 2 offer group classes, 1 board and train and 1 private lessons.

Highest Bark Score in Norman: Really Good Pets LLC, 4.1.

Guide

How to choose a dog trainer in Oklahoma

What the 67 trainers listed in Oklahoma offer, how to check them, and what to ask before you book.

What training methods do dog trainers in Oklahoma use?

Of the 67 trainers listed in Oklahoma, 32 say they train force-free, 4 balanced, 1 e-collar-centric, and 30 don’t say how they train.

It’s worth knowing a trainer’s method before you book, rather than finding out in the first session. Every trainer on this page carries one of four labels, and nobody is hidden because of their method:

Force-free
Rewards and positive reinforcement, with no aversive tools such as prong, choke or shock collars.
Balanced
Rewards combined with corrections when a dog gets something wrong.
E-collar-centric
Training built around an electronic collar.
Not stated
The listing doesn’t say, and we couldn’t check it yet.

If a trainer’s method isn’t stated, ask them what happens when a dog gets something wrong. Their answer will tell you more than any label.

How do you check a dog trainer’s qualifications in Oklahoma?

Look for an independent credential. 4 of the 67 trainers listed here name one on their listing.

A credential doesn’t guarantee a good trainer, but it means someone outside their business has tested what they know. That’s why credentials make up a quarter of the Bark Score.

The credentials held by trainers in Oklahoma:

KPA-CTP (1 trainer)
Karen Pryor Academy Certified Training Partner, from the Karen Pryor Academy. Completed the academy’s dog trainer programme, which teaches reward-based training, and passed its practical assessments.
CPDT-KSA (1 trainer)
Certified Professional Dog Trainer, Knowledge and Skills Assessed, from the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). As the CPDT-KA, plus a hands-on assessment of their training skills.
CPDT-KA (1 trainer)
Certified Professional Dog Trainer, Knowledge Assessed, from the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). Passed an independent exam on training and behaviour, after logging hours of training experience. Kept up with continuing education.
CBCC-KA (1 trainer)
Certified Behavior Consultant Canine, Knowledge Assessed, from the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). Passed an exam focused on behaviour problems such as fear, aggression and anxiety, after logging hours of behaviour consulting.

Private lessons, group classes or board and train: which suits your dog?

It depends on the problem and on how much time you can give it. In Oklahoma, group classes are offered by 41 trainers, and private lessons by 39.

Group classes (41 trainers)
A class with other dogs and owners. Your dog learns to listen around distractions, though each dog gets less of the trainer’s time.
Private lessons (39 trainers)
One to one with the trainer, so the whole session goes on your dog’s problem. A good fit for a specific issue, or a dog who can’t cope around other dogs yet.
Board and train (30 trainers)
Your dog stays with the trainer for a set time and is trained for you. Ask how they will hand the skills over, because a dog who listens to the trainer won’t automatically listen to you at home.
Online (11 trainers)
Sessions by video call. Handy for puppy questions and coaching you between visits, harder for problems a trainer needs to see in person.
In your home (9 trainers)
The trainer comes to you, so you work on problems where they happen: at the front door, in the yard or on your usual walk.
Day training (8 trainers)
You drop your dog off and pick them up the same day, with the trainer working with them in between. Ask how many handover sessions with you are included.

Whichever you choose, the training only sticks if you practise between sessions, so ask what you’ll need to do at home and how long it should take each day.

What can a dog trainer in Oklahoma help with?

54 of the 67 trainers listed in Oklahoma help with basic obedience, 46 with recall and 46 with leash pulling.

Fewer take on behaviour problems: 13 list reactivity, 21 list aggression, 15 list fear and 4 list separation anxiety. 1 holds a behaviour credential (CBCC-KA or IAABC-CDBC), which means they’ve been tested on exactly this kind of work.

If the behaviour is new, or your dog has started growling, snapping or hiding, see your vet before you book a trainer. Pain and illness can cause behaviour changes, and a good trainer will ask about it anyway.

What should you ask a dog trainer before you book?

Ask these before you pay for anything. A good trainer will be happy to answer all of them.

  1. How do you train, and what happens when a dog gets something wrong?
  2. What training or credentials do you have?
  3. Have you worked with dogs like mine, with this problem?
  4. What does it cost, and how many sessions are included?
  5. What will I need to practise between sessions?
  6. What support do I get once the sessions are over?

Questions people ask

How does the ranking work?

Trainers are ranked by Bark Score, from 0 to 5: Reputation 30%, Ethics (training methods) 40%, Credentials 25% and Service breadth 5%. Nobody can pay for a higher score, and every trainer is listed and labelled by method.

Which Oklahoma trainers score highest?

K9 Manners & More in Broken Arrow and The Doggie Spot in Shawnee both have a Bark Score of 4.8. ROC Animal Training and Behavior in Oklahoma City has 4.7. All three are labelled Force-free.

Are online sessions or board and train available?

Yes. 11 trainers in the state offer online sessions and 30 offer board and train, where your dog stays with the trainer. 9 train in the home, and 41 run group classes.

How much does dog training cost in Oklahoma?

We don’t show prices for Oklahoma yet, because none of the 67 trainers listed here publish prices on their listing, and we’d rather show you nothing than a guess. When you ask for a quote, check how long each session is, how many sessions are included, and whether help after the program ends is part of the price.

How many dog trainers in Oklahoma offer board and train?

30 of the 67 trainers listed in Oklahoma offer board and train, where your dog stays with the trainer for a set time. 8 offer day training instead, where you drop your dog off and pick them up the same day.

Can I find a dog trainer in Oklahoma who trains online?

Yes. 11 trainers based in Oklahoma also train online by video call, so you can work with them wherever you live in the state.

Are there dog trainers in Oklahoma who help with reactive or aggressive dogs?

Yes. 13 trainers listed in Oklahoma help with reactivity and 21 with aggression. 1 hold a behaviour credential (CBCC-KA or IAABC-CDBC). Filter the list above by what you need help with to see them.

Also worth reading

Towns and cities