Dog trainers in Kansas

Of the 45 dog trainers listed in Kansas, 37 have a Bark Score, and 3 are Platinum Certified with 8 Gold Rated. Overland Park has 6 trainers, Wichita 5 and Manhattan 4, among 23 cities. 16 are labelled Force-free, 5 Balanced and 1 E-collar-centric, and 23 don't state their methods. Beyond the Dog, LLC in Overland Park has a Bark Score of 4.9. 7 trainers hold CPDT-KA.

Find the right trainer in Kansas

Ranked by member recommendations, then Bark Score. Narrow the list down to what your dog needs.

Filter the list
How do you want to train?
Training method

Showing the top 30 of 45 trainers

Beyond the Dog, LLC

Overland ParkForce-free

4.9Bark Score

How you can train
Online, Board and train
Helps with
Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Reactivity, Fear and 2 more
Credentials
CPDT-KA
In business since
2001

See profile Website Call

Canine Solutions Dog Training

Spring HillForce-free

4.8Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Board and train, Online
Helps with
AKC Canine Good Citizen, Puppy training, Basic obedience, Reactivity, Aggression and 4 more
Credentials
CPDT-KA, KPA-CTP

See profile Website Call

K.I.S.S. Dog Training

ShawneeForce-free

4.8Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, In your home
Helps with
Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Separation anxiety, Aggression and 3 more
Credentials
CPDT-KA
In business since
2011

See profile Website Call

RolloverU

ManhattanForce-free

4.6Bark Score

How you can train
Group classes
Helps with
Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Scent work, AKC trick titles and 1 more
Credentials
CPDT-KSA

See profile Website Call

The Pet Connection

BeloitForce-free

4.4Bark Score

How you can train
Day training, Board and train, In your home, Private lessons
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash pulling, Recall
Credentials
CBCC-KA

See profile Website Call

The Pet Connection

LenexaForce-free

4.4Bark Score

How you can train
Day training, Board and train, In your home, Private lessons
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash pulling, Recall
Credentials
CBCC-KA

See profile Website Call

Barktopia

WichitaForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Private lessons
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling

See profile Website Call

Complete K9

WichitaMethod not stated

3.5Bark Score

How you can train
Group classes, Board and train, Private lessons
Helps with
Service dog work, Protection, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling and 2 more

See profile Website Call

Integrity Dogs KC

Kansas CityMethod not stated

3.5Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Day training, In your home
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Reactivity and 2 more

See profile Website Call

3.4Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, Board and train, Day training, In your home
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Separation anxiety and 1 more

See profile Website Call

KC Dawgz Dog Training Academy

Overland ParkBalanced

3.4Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, Board and train, Day training, In your home
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Separation anxiety and 1 more

See profile Website Call

By specialism

At a glance

Dog training in Kansas, by the numbers

  • 45dog trainers listed in Kansas
  • 23towns and cities with a trainer
  • 36%say they train force-free
  • 10name a recognised credential

How they train

Force-free
36%
Balanced
11%
E-collar-centric
2%
Not stated
51%

How you can train with them

Private lessons
51%
Group classes
38%
Board and train
33%
Day training
18%
In your home
13%
Online
11%

What they help with

Basic obedience
73%
Recall
62%
Leash pulling
62%
Puppy training
53%
AKC Canine Good Citizen
20%
Reactivity
20%

Counted from all 45 trainers listed in Kansas, from what their listings say.

Overland Park 6

Of the 6 trainers in Overland Park, 4 say they train force-free, 1 balanced and 1 doesn’t say how they train. 4 offer private lessons, 3 group classes and 2 board and train. 2 name a credential such as CPDT-KA.

Highest Bark Score in Overland Park: Beyond the Dog, LLC, 4.9.

Wichita 5

Of the 5 trainers in Wichita, 2 say they train force-free and 3 don’t say how they train. 3 offer private lessons, 2 board and train and 2 group classes.

Highest Bark Score in Wichita: Barktopia, 4.1.

Manhattan 4

Of the 4 trainers in Manhattan, 2 say they train force-free and 2 don’t say how they train. 3 offer group classes and 1 private lessons. 2 name a credential such as CPDT-KSA.

Highest Bark Score in Manhattan: MuttSchool: dog training and behavior, 4.7.

Derby 3

Of the 3 trainers in Derby, 2 say they train force-free and 1 doesn’t say how they train. 2 offer private lessons and 1 group classes.

Highest Bark Score in Derby: K-9 Kudos, 4.3.

Lenexa 3

Of the 3 trainers in Lenexa, 1 says it trains force-free and 2 don’t say how they train. 1 offers day training, 1 board and train and 1 in your home. 1 names a credential such as CBCC-KA.

Highest Bark Score in Lenexa: The Pet Connection, 4.4.

Olathe 3

Of the 3 trainers in Olathe, 2 balanced and 1 doesn’t say how they train. 2 offer group classes, 2 day training and 1 private lessons.

Highest Bark Score in Olathe: Collars Dog Resort, 3.7.

Guide

How to choose a dog trainer in Kansas

What the 45 trainers listed in Kansas offer, how to check them, and what to ask before you book.

What training methods do dog trainers in Kansas use?

Of the 45 trainers listed in Kansas, 16 say they train force-free, 5 balanced, 1 e-collar-centric, and 23 don’t say how they train.

It’s worth knowing a trainer’s method before you book, rather than finding out in the first session. Every trainer on this page carries one of four labels, and nobody is hidden because of their method:

Force-free
Rewards and positive reinforcement, with no aversive tools such as prong, choke or shock collars.
Balanced
Rewards combined with corrections when a dog gets something wrong.
E-collar-centric
Training built around an electronic collar.
Not stated
The listing doesn’t say, and we couldn’t check it yet.

If a trainer’s method isn’t stated, ask them what happens when a dog gets something wrong. Their answer will tell you more than any label.

How do you check a dog trainer’s qualifications in Kansas?

Look for an independent credential. 10 of the 45 trainers listed here name one on their listing.

A credential doesn’t guarantee a good trainer, but it means someone outside their business has tested what they know. That’s why credentials make up a quarter of the Bark Score.

The credentials held by trainers in Kansas:

CPDT-KA (7 trainers)
Certified Professional Dog Trainer, Knowledge Assessed, from the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). Passed an independent exam on training and behaviour, after logging hours of training experience. Kept up with continuing education.
CBCC-KA (4 trainers)
Certified Behavior Consultant Canine, Knowledge Assessed, from the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). Passed an exam focused on behaviour problems such as fear, aggression and anxiety, after logging hours of behaviour consulting.
KPA-CTP (3 trainers)
Karen Pryor Academy Certified Training Partner, from the Karen Pryor Academy. Completed the academy’s dog trainer programme, which teaches reward-based training, and passed its practical assessments.
CPDT-KSA (2 trainers)
Certified Professional Dog Trainer, Knowledge and Skills Assessed, from the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). As the CPDT-KA, plus a hands-on assessment of their training skills.

Private lessons, group classes or board and train: which suits your dog?

It depends on the problem and on how much time you can give it. In Kansas, private lessons are offered by 23 trainers, and group classes by 17.

Private lessons (23 trainers)
One to one with the trainer, so the whole session goes on your dog’s problem. A good fit for a specific issue, or a dog who can’t cope around other dogs yet.
Group classes (17 trainers)
A class with other dogs and owners. Your dog learns to listen around distractions, though each dog gets less of the trainer’s time.
Board and train (15 trainers)
Your dog stays with the trainer for a set time and is trained for you. Ask how they will hand the skills over, because a dog who listens to the trainer won’t automatically listen to you at home.
Day training (8 trainers)
You drop your dog off and pick them up the same day, with the trainer working with them in between. Ask how many handover sessions with you are included.
In your home (6 trainers)
The trainer comes to you, so you work on problems where they happen: at the front door, in the yard or on your usual walk.
Online (5 trainers)
Sessions by video call. Handy for puppy questions and coaching you between visits, harder for problems a trainer needs to see in person.

Whichever you choose, the training only sticks if you practise between sessions, so ask what you’ll need to do at home and how long it should take each day.

What can a dog trainer in Kansas help with?

33 of the 45 trainers listed in Kansas help with basic obedience, 28 with recall and 28 with leash pulling.

Fewer take on behaviour problems: 9 list reactivity, 6 list aggression, 6 list fear and 8 list separation anxiety. 4 hold a behaviour credential (CBCC-KA or IAABC-CDBC), which means they’ve been tested on exactly this kind of work.

If the behaviour is new, or your dog has started growling, snapping or hiding, see your vet before you book a trainer. Pain and illness can cause behaviour changes, and a good trainer will ask about it anyway.

What should you ask a dog trainer before you book?

Ask these before you pay for anything. A good trainer will be happy to answer all of them.

  1. How do you train, and what happens when a dog gets something wrong?
  2. What training or credentials do you have?
  3. Have you worked with dogs like mine, with this problem?
  4. What does it cost, and how many sessions are included?
  5. What will I need to practise between sessions?
  6. What support do I get once the sessions are over?

Questions people ask

Which credentials do dog trainers in Kansas hold?

7 trainers hold CPDT-KA, 4 hold CBCC-KA, 3 hold KPA-CTP and 2 hold CPDT-KSA. Credentials make up 25% of a trainer's Bark Score, so they affect the order on this page.

Who has the highest score?

Beyond the Dog, LLC in Overland Park has a Bark Score of 4.9. Canine Solutions Dog Training in Spring Hill and K.I.S.S. Dog Training in Shawnee both have 4.8. All three are labelled Force-free.

Can I find group classes or board and train?

Yes. 17 trainers run group classes and 15 offer board and train. 23 offer private 1:1 training, 8 run a day school and 6 train in the home.

How much does dog training cost in Kansas?

We don’t show prices for Kansas yet, because none of the 45 trainers listed here publish prices on their listing, and we’d rather show you nothing than a guess. When you ask for a quote, check how long each session is, how many sessions are included, and whether help after the program ends is part of the price.

How many dog trainers in Kansas offer board and train?

15 of the 45 trainers listed in Kansas offer board and train, where your dog stays with the trainer for a set time. 8 offer day training instead, where you drop your dog off and pick them up the same day.

Can I find a dog trainer in Kansas who trains online?

Yes. 5 trainers based in Kansas also train online by video call, so you can work with them wherever you live in the state.

Are there dog trainers in Kansas who help with reactive or aggressive dogs?

Yes. 9 trainers listed in Kansas help with reactivity and 6 with aggression. 4 hold a behaviour credential (CBCC-KA or IAABC-CDBC). Filter the list above by what you need help with to see them.

Also worth reading

Towns and cities