Dog trainers in Utah

Salt Lake City has 9 of Utah's 100 listed dog trainers, Ogden has 7, and West Jordan and Layton have 6 each. Trainers are found in 53 cities and 82 have a Bark Score. 27 are labelled Force-free, 12 Balanced and 5 E-collar-centric, while 56 don't state their methods. Board and train and group classes are each offered by 44 trainers, behind private 1:1 sessions at 58.

Find the right trainer in Utah

Ranked by member recommendations, then Bark Score. Narrow the list down to what your dog needs.

Filter the list
How do you want to train?
Training method

Showing the top 30 of 100 trainers

Bandits Stay and Play

OremForce-free

4.7Bark Score

How you can train
Group classes, Private lessons, Day training, Board and train
Helps with
Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Reactivity, Fear
Credentials
IAABC-ADT

See profile Website Call

Clementine Dog Training

RivertonForce-free

4.7Bark Score

How you can train
Group classes, Private lessons
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Reactivity and 3 more
Credentials
CPDT-KA, KPA-CTP

See profile Website Call

Skye’s Dog Training

West JordanForce-free

4.7Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Therapy dog work, Service dog work and 5 more
Credentials
CPDT-KA

See profile Website Call

K9 Lifeline

DraperForce-free

4.3Bark Score

How you can train
Group classes, Day training, Board and train
Helps with
Puppy training, Reactivity
In business since
1995

See profile Website Call

PetSuites Herriman

HerrimanForce-free

4.2Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, Board and train
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling

See profile Website Call

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes, Online, In your home, Board and train
Helps with
AKC Canine Good Citizen, Therapy dog work, Puppy training, Reactivity, Recall and 3 more

See profile Website Call

Cornerstone Dog Training

KaysvilleForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Board and train, Online, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Aggression, Separation anxiety, Recall and 2 more

See profile Website Call

Make Your Dog Epic

OgdenForce-free

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash pulling, Recall, Fear and 1 more

See profile Website Call

Make Your Dog Epic

LaytonForce-free

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash pulling, Recall, Fear and 1 more

See profile Website Call

Make Your Dog Epic

LoganForce-free

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash pulling, Recall, Fear and 1 more

See profile Website Call

By specialism

At a glance

Dog training in Utah, by the numbers

  • 100dog trainers listed in Utah
  • 53towns and cities with a trainer
  • 27%say they train force-free
  • 3name a recognised credential

How they train

Force-free
27%
Balanced
12%
E-collar-centric
5%
Not stated
56%

How you can train with them

Private lessons
58%
Group classes
44%
Board and train
44%
In your home
15%
Day training
11%
Online
10%

What they help with

Basic obedience
65%
Puppy training
53%
Recall
51%
Leash pulling
46%
Aggression
23%
Reactivity
21%

Counted from all 100 trainers listed in Utah, from what their listings say.

Salt Lake City 9

Of the 9 trainers in Salt Lake City, 2 say they train force-free, 1 balanced and 6 don’t say how they train. 6 offer private lessons, 4 board and train and 3 group classes.

Highest Bark Score in Salt Lake City: Four Legged Scholars LLC, 4.0.

Ogden 7

Of the 7 trainers in Ogden, 2 say they train force-free, 1 balanced and 4 don’t say how they train. 5 offer private lessons, 4 board and train and 3 group classes.

Highest Bark Score in Ogden: Make Your Dog Epic, 4.0.

Layton 6

Of the 6 trainers in Layton, 3 say they train force-free and 3 don’t say how they train. 3 offer group classes, 3 board and train and 2 private lessons.

Highest Bark Score in Layton: Make Your Dog Epic, 4.0.

West Jordan 6

Of the 6 trainers in West Jordan, 1 says it trains force-free, 1 balanced and 4 don’t say how they train. 3 offer private lessons, 3 group classes and 3 board and train. 1 names a credential such as CPDT-KA.

Highest Bark Score in West Jordan: Skye’s Dog Training, 4.7.

Sandy 5

Of the 5 trainers in Sandy, 2 say they train force-free, 1 balanced and 2 don’t say how they train. 4 offer private lessons, 2 in your home and 2 group classes.

Highest Bark Score in Sandy: Utah K9 Training, 3.6.

Riverton 4

Of the 4 trainers in Riverton, 1 says it trains force-free, 1 e-collar-centric and 2 don’t say how they train. 4 offer group classes, 3 private lessons and 2 board and train. 1 names a credential such as CPDT-KA.

Highest Bark Score in Riverton: Clementine Dog Training, 4.7.

Guide

How to choose a dog trainer in Utah

What the 100 trainers listed in Utah offer, how to check them, and what to ask before you book.

What training methods do dog trainers in Utah use?

Of the 100 trainers listed in Utah, 27 say they train force-free, 12 balanced, 5 e-collar-centric, and 56 don’t say how they train.

It’s worth knowing a trainer’s method before you book, rather than finding out in the first session. Every trainer on this page carries one of four labels, and nobody is hidden because of their method:

Force-free
Rewards and positive reinforcement, with no aversive tools such as prong, choke or shock collars.
Balanced
Rewards combined with corrections when a dog gets something wrong.
E-collar-centric
Training built around an electronic collar.
Not stated
The listing doesn’t say, and we couldn’t check it yet.

If a trainer’s method isn’t stated, ask them what happens when a dog gets something wrong. Their answer will tell you more than any label.

How do you check a dog trainer’s qualifications in Utah?

Look for an independent credential. 3 of the 100 trainers listed here name one on their listing.

A credential doesn’t guarantee a good trainer, but it means someone outside their business has tested what they know. That’s why credentials make up a quarter of the Bark Score.

The credentials held by trainers in Utah:

CPDT-KA (2 trainers)
Certified Professional Dog Trainer, Knowledge Assessed, from the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). Passed an independent exam on training and behaviour, after logging hours of training experience. Kept up with continuing education.
IAABC-ADT (1 trainer)
Accredited Dog Trainer, from the International Association of Animal Behavior Consultants (IAABC). Accredited by IAABC after a review of their training knowledge and case work.
KPA-CTP (1 trainer)
Karen Pryor Academy Certified Training Partner, from the Karen Pryor Academy. Completed the academy’s dog trainer programme, which teaches reward-based training, and passed its practical assessments.

Private lessons, group classes or board and train: which suits your dog?

It depends on the problem and on how much time you can give it. In Utah, private lessons are offered by 58 trainers, and group classes by 44.

Private lessons (58 trainers)
One to one with the trainer, so the whole session goes on your dog’s problem. A good fit for a specific issue, or a dog who can’t cope around other dogs yet.
Group classes (44 trainers)
A class with other dogs and owners. Your dog learns to listen around distractions, though each dog gets less of the trainer’s time.
Board and train (44 trainers)
Your dog stays with the trainer for a set time and is trained for you. Ask how they will hand the skills over, because a dog who listens to the trainer won’t automatically listen to you at home.
In your home (15 trainers)
The trainer comes to you, so you work on problems where they happen: at the front door, in the yard or on your usual walk.
Day training (11 trainers)
You drop your dog off and pick them up the same day, with the trainer working with them in between. Ask how many handover sessions with you are included.
Online (10 trainers)
Sessions by video call. Handy for puppy questions and coaching you between visits, harder for problems a trainer needs to see in person.

Whichever you choose, the training only sticks if you practise between sessions, so ask what you’ll need to do at home and how long it should take each day.

What can a dog trainer in Utah help with?

65 of the 100 trainers listed in Utah help with basic obedience, 53 with puppy training and 51 with recall.

Fewer take on behaviour problems: 21 list reactivity, 23 list aggression, 16 list fear and 12 list separation anxiety.

If the behaviour is new, or your dog has started growling, snapping or hiding, see your vet before you book a trainer. Pain and illness can cause behaviour changes, and a good trainer will ask about it anyway.

What should you ask a dog trainer before you book?

Ask these before you pay for anything. A good trainer will be happy to answer all of them.

  1. How do you train, and what happens when a dog gets something wrong?
  2. What training or credentials do you have?
  3. Have you worked with dogs like mine, with this problem?
  4. What does it cost, and how many sessions are included?
  5. What will I need to practise between sessions?
  6. What support do I get once the sessions are over?

Questions people ask

Which Utah trainers have the highest Bark Scores?

Bandits Stay and Play in Orem, Clementine Dog Training in Riverton and Skye’s Dog Training in West Jordan each have a Bark Score of 4.7. All three are labelled Force-free.

How many trainers say they train force-free?

27 trainers are labelled Force-free. 12 are Balanced and 5 are E-collar-centric. The remaining 56 don't state their methods, so it is worth asking a trainer how they work before you book.

Can I find in-home training or day school?

Yes. 15 trainers train in the home and 11 run a day school, and 10 offer online sessions. Private 1:1 training is the most common format, offered by 58 trainers.

How much does dog training cost in Utah?

We don’t show prices for Utah yet, because none of the 100 trainers listed here publish prices on their listing, and we’d rather show you nothing than a guess. When you ask for a quote, check how long each session is, how many sessions are included, and whether help after the program ends is part of the price.

How many dog trainers in Utah offer board and train?

44 of the 100 trainers listed in Utah offer board and train, where your dog stays with the trainer for a set time. 11 offer day training instead, where you drop your dog off and pick them up the same day.

Can I find a dog trainer in Utah who trains online?

Yes. 10 trainers based in Utah also train online by video call, so you can work with them wherever you live in the state.

Are there dog trainers in Utah who help with reactive or aggressive dogs?

Yes. 21 trainers listed in Utah help with reactivity and 23 with aggression. Filter the list above by what you need help with to see them.

Also worth reading

Towns and cities