Dog trainers in Arizona

Phoenix has 30 of Arizona's 143 listed dog trainers and Tucson has 20, with Mesa and Scottsdale at 13 each. Trainers are found in 35 cities, and 125 have a Bark Score. 46 are labelled Force-free, 18 Balanced and 3 E-collar-centric, and 76 don't state their methods. Building Bonds in Tucson has a Bark Score of 4.8. 83 trainers offer private 1:1 sessions and 67 run group classes.

Find the right trainer in Arizona

Ranked by member recommendations, then Bark Score. Narrow the list down to what your dog needs.

Filter the list
How do you want to train?
Training method

Showing the top 30 of 143 trainers

Building Bonds

TucsonForce-free

4.9Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, In your home, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, AKC Canine Good Citizen, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling and 1 more
Credentials
CPDT-KA

See profile Website Call

Modern Day Dog Training, LLC

San Tan ValleyForce-free

4.6Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, In your home, Board and train, Online
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling
Credentials
KPA-CTP

See profile Website Call

Desert Sky K9

GlendaleForce-free

4.2Bark Score

How you can train
Group classes, Private lessons
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Protection and 3 more
In business since
2008

See profile Website Call

The Complete Canine

TucsonForce-free

4.2Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Basic obedience, Agility, Recall, Leash pulling, Therapy dog work and 1 more

See profile Website Call

AZ Dog Sports

PhoenixForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
In your home, Private lessons, Group classes, Board and train
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling

See profile Website Call

All Canine Training

PhoenixForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Board and train, Day training, Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling
In business since
2016

See profile Website Call

GSD Safety-K9 Training

ScottsdaleForce-free

4.1Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons
Helps with
Basic obedience, Reactivity, Separation anxiety, Aggression, Leash pulling and 1 more
In business since
1996

See profile Website Call

East Valley K9 Services LLC

MesaMethod not stated

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
Group classes, Private lessons
Helps with
Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Therapy dog work, Agility and 1 more
Credentials
CPDT-KA

See profile Website Call

K9 Pawfidence

Lake Havasu CityForce-free

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, Agility

See profile Website Call

AZ Dog Boss

BuckeyeForce-free

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
In your home, Private lessons
Helps with
Service dog work, Therapy dog work, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling

See profile Website Call

Empire Ridge Ranch

TucsonForce-free

4.0Bark Score

How you can train
Private lessons, Group classes
Helps with
Puppy training, Basic obedience, Recall, Leash pulling, AKC Canine Good Citizen and 4 more

See profile Website Call

By specialism

At a glance

Dog training in Arizona, by the numbers

  • 143dog trainers listed in Arizona
  • 35towns and cities with a trainer
  • 32%say they train force-free
  • 4name a recognised credential

How they train

Force-free
32%
Balanced
13%
E-collar-centric
2%
Not stated
53%

How you can train with them

Private lessons
58%
Group classes
47%
Board and train
31%
In your home
17%
Online
10%
Day training
7%

What they help with

Basic obedience
76%
Recall
60%
Leash pulling
57%
Puppy training
50%
Aggression
17%
Therapy dog work
15%

Counted from all 143 trainers listed in Arizona, from what their listings say.

Phoenix 30

Of the 30 trainers in Phoenix, 9 say they train force-free, 3 balanced and 18 don’t say how they train. 15 offer private lessons, 10 board and train and 10 group classes.

Highest Bark Score in Phoenix: Doggie District – Paradise Valley, 4.3.

Tucson 20

Of the 20 trainers in Tucson, 7 say they train force-free, 2 balanced and 11 don’t say how they train. 12 offer group classes, 11 private lessons and 4 board and train. 1 names a credential such as CPDT-KA.

Highest Bark Score in Tucson: Building Bonds, 4.8.

Mesa 13

Of the 13 trainers in Mesa, 5 say they train force-free, 4 balanced and 4 don’t say how they train. 8 offer private lessons, 7 group classes and 5 board and train. 1 names a credential such as CPDT-KA.

Highest Bark Score in Mesa: Balanced Pooches In Home Dog Training, 4.3.

Scottsdale 13

Of the 13 trainers in Scottsdale, 5 say they train force-free, 1 balanced and 7 don’t say how they train. 8 offer private lessons, 8 group classes and 2 day training.

Highest Bark Score in Scottsdale: k9katelynn Dog Training, 4.2.

Gilbert 7

Of the 7 trainers in Gilbert, 1 balanced and 6 don’t say how they train. 4 offer private lessons, 2 board and train and 2 group classes.

Highest Bark Score in Gilbert: Hodge Canine, 3.8.

Cave Creek 5

Of the 5 trainers in Cave Creek, 1 balanced, 1 e-collar-centric and 3 don’t say how they train. 5 offer private lessons, 3 group classes and 2 board and train.

Highest Bark Score in Cave Creek: Cave Creek K9 Training, 3.7.

Guide

How to choose a dog trainer in Arizona

What the 143 trainers listed in Arizona offer, how to check them, and what to ask before you book.

What training methods do dog trainers in Arizona use?

Of the 143 trainers listed in Arizona, 46 say they train force-free, 18 balanced, 3 e-collar-centric, and 76 don’t say how they train.

It’s worth knowing a trainer’s method before you book, rather than finding out in the first session. Every trainer on this page carries one of four labels, and nobody is hidden because of their method:

Force-free
Rewards and positive reinforcement, with no aversive tools such as prong, choke or shock collars.
Balanced
Rewards combined with corrections when a dog gets something wrong.
E-collar-centric
Training built around an electronic collar.
Not stated
The listing doesn’t say, and we couldn’t check it yet.

If a trainer’s method isn’t stated, ask them what happens when a dog gets something wrong. Their answer will tell you more than any label.

How do you check a dog trainer’s qualifications in Arizona?

Look for an independent credential. 4 of the 143 trainers listed here name one on their listing.

A credential doesn’t guarantee a good trainer, but it means someone outside their business has tested what they know. That’s why credentials make up a quarter of the Bark Score.

The credentials held by trainers in Arizona:

CPDT-KA (2 trainers)
Certified Professional Dog Trainer, Knowledge Assessed, from the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). Passed an independent exam on training and behaviour, after logging hours of training experience. Kept up with continuing education.
IACP (1 trainer)
International Association of Canine Professionals, from the International Association of Canine Professionals. A membership association for dog professionals. It also runs its own certifications, so ask which one, if any, the trainer holds.
KPA-CTP (1 trainer)
Karen Pryor Academy Certified Training Partner, from the Karen Pryor Academy. Completed the academy’s dog trainer programme, which teaches reward-based training, and passed its practical assessments.

Private lessons, group classes or board and train: which suits your dog?

It depends on the problem and on how much time you can give it. In Arizona, private lessons are offered by 83 trainers, and group classes by 67.

Private lessons (83 trainers)
One to one with the trainer, so the whole session goes on your dog’s problem. A good fit for a specific issue, or a dog who can’t cope around other dogs yet.
Group classes (67 trainers)
A class with other dogs and owners. Your dog learns to listen around distractions, though each dog gets less of the trainer’s time.
Board and train (44 trainers)
Your dog stays with the trainer for a set time and is trained for you. Ask how they will hand the skills over, because a dog who listens to the trainer won’t automatically listen to you at home.
In your home (25 trainers)
The trainer comes to you, so you work on problems where they happen: at the front door, in the yard or on your usual walk.
Online (15 trainers)
Sessions by video call. Handy for puppy questions and coaching you between visits, harder for problems a trainer needs to see in person.
Day training (10 trainers)
You drop your dog off and pick them up the same day, with the trainer working with them in between. Ask how many handover sessions with you are included.

Whichever you choose, the training only sticks if you practise between sessions, so ask what you’ll need to do at home and how long it should take each day.

What can a dog trainer in Arizona help with?

109 of the 143 trainers listed in Arizona help with basic obedience, 86 with recall and 82 with leash pulling.

Fewer take on behaviour problems: 21 list reactivity, 24 list aggression, 12 list fear and 11 list separation anxiety.

If the behaviour is new, or your dog has started growling, snapping or hiding, see your vet before you book a trainer. Pain and illness can cause behaviour changes, and a good trainer will ask about it anyway.

What should you ask a dog trainer before you book?

Ask these before you pay for anything. A good trainer will be happy to answer all of them.

  1. How do you train, and what happens when a dog gets something wrong?
  2. What training or credentials do you have?
  3. Have you worked with dogs like mine, with this problem?
  4. What does it cost, and how many sessions are included?
  5. What will I need to practise between sessions?
  6. What support do I get once the sessions are over?

Questions people ask

Which Arizona cities have the most dog trainers?

Phoenix has the most with 30, followed by Tucson with 20. Mesa and Scottsdale have 13 each and Gilbert has 7. Trainers are listed in 35 cities.

How does the ranking work?

Trainers are ordered by Bark Score, from 0 to 5. Its pillars are Reputation 30%, Ethics (training methods) 40%, Credentials 25% and Service breadth 5%. Nobody can pay for a higher score, and none are hidden.

Is therapy dog training available?

Yes, 22 trainers in the state list therapy dog work and 24 work with aggression. Basic obedience is the most common subject with 109 trainers, then recall with 86 and lead walking with 82.

How much does dog training cost in Arizona?

We don’t show prices for Arizona yet, because none of the 143 trainers listed here publish prices on their listing, and we’d rather show you nothing than a guess. When you ask for a quote, check how long each session is, how many sessions are included, and whether help after the program ends is part of the price.

How many dog trainers in Arizona offer board and train?

44 of the 143 trainers listed in Arizona offer board and train, where your dog stays with the trainer for a set time. 10 offer day training instead, where you drop your dog off and pick them up the same day.

Can I find a dog trainer in Arizona who trains online?

Yes. 15 trainers based in Arizona also train online by video call, so you can work with them wherever you live in the state.

Are there dog trainers in Arizona who help with reactive or aggressive dogs?

Yes. 21 trainers listed in Arizona help with reactivity and 24 with aggression. Filter the list above by what you need help with to see them.

Also worth reading

Towns and cities